The Butterfly

Today a friend called me to tell me about an opportunity that had been given to him which would offer him a short-cut  – it would mean that he would skip several stages of the process resulting in him missing much valuable experience.  I explained to him that sometimes certain stages in the process are necessary for our character development and by taking this offer he may miss out on some very valuable experience.  My advice to him reminded me of this beautiful story of the butterfly:

The Butterfly

One day a man found a cocoon of a butterfly.  He sat and watched the butterfly for several hours and then a small opening appeared.  After this the butterfly struggled to force its body through that little hole after a while it seemed to stop making any progress. It appeared as if it had got as far as it could go.

Then the man decided to help the butterfly, so he took a pair of scissors and snipped off the remaining bit of the Cocoon. The butterfly then emerged easily. But it had a swollen body and small, shrivelled wings.

The man continued to watch the butterfly because he expected that, at any moment, the wings would enlarge and expand to be able to support the body, which would contract in time.

Neither happened! In fact, the butterfly spent the rest of its life crawling around with a swollen body and shrivelled wings. It never was able to fly.

What this man in his kindness and haste did not understand was that the restricting Cocoon and the struggle required for the butterfly to get through the tiny opening were nature’s way of forcing fluid from the body of the butterfly into its wings so that it would be ready for flight once it achieved its freedom from the cocoon.

Source of butterfly story unknown

Comments
7 Responses to “The Butterfly”
  1. Mary Margaret Wieczorek says:

    Dear Priya,
    I love your story about the butterfly. Yes life is a struggle sometimes but that is what makes us stronger. If success in life comes too easily we do not always appreciate it until its too late.

  2. shiva says:

    Hi priya nice story! Keep post this kind storys, thnx!

  3. Jose Pita says:

    Thanks for the great story Priya 🙂 I recently took up the challenge of building my own house, the task seemed daunting at first as I did not have any kind of experience in construction.I was met with many challenges and difficulties. But I’m proud to say that after two years of sacrificing weekends and holidays I completed the task and have been rewarded with experience in brick work, roofing and electrical work. The experience i gained also set a path for other projects. I guess like the butterfly, choosing the more challenging path allowed me to realize hidden potential.

    http://josemanuelpita.blogspot.com/2010/03/my-path.html 🙂

  4. Love your story! I made the logo of my brand a butterfly because of this reason! (And a few others). But I believe in life we will enter that pupa stage (the period of the unknown)… in fact I believe for people this happens many many times, but if we have faith and face our challenges, we will, like the butterfly, come out with strong wings that allow us to fly. My new brand is called IF ONLY I KNEW.

Leave a Reply

