Don’t hold onto problems

Don’t hold onto Problems

A teacher began his class by holding up a small packet of flour. He held it up for all this students to see and asked them, “How much do you think this flour weighs?”

‘70 gms!’…. ‘100 gms!’…… ‘150 gms’ …… the students answered.

“I will not know the exact weight unless I put it on the scales,” said the teacher, “but, my question is: What would happen if I held it up like this for a few minutes?”

“Nothing” the students answered.

“Alright then, what do you think would happen if I held it up like this for an hour?” the teacher asked.

“Your arm would begin to ache,” said one of the students.

“You’re right, now what would happen if I held it for a day?”

“Your arm could go numb, you might have severe muscle stress and have to go to hospital”, said another student; and all the students laughed.

“Very good. But during all this, did the weight of the flour change?” questioned the teacher. “No” the students said. “Then what caused the arm ache and muscle stress?”

The students were puzzled.

“Put the flour down!” said one of the students.

“Exactly!” said the teacher. “Life’s problems are something like this. Hold it for a few minutes in your head and they seem okay. Think of them for a long time and your head begins to ache. Hold it even longer and the problems begin to paralyze you. You will not be able to do anything.”

“It’s important to deal with the challenges and problems in your life to the best of your ability, but  if something can not be solved by you it’s important to ‘let go’, trust God and  ‘put the weight down’. That way, you won’t be stressed and you will wake up every day fresh and strong. Thus, better able to handle any issue, any challenge that comes your way!”

Comments
24 Responses to “Don’t hold onto problems”
  1. Mary Margaret Wieczorek says:

    Dear Priya,
    thank you for this message, I will try this. I have a habit of putting jobs off instead of actually doing them and this causes problems for me in that I get a great backlog of jobs to do and then I get exhausted thinking about how much I have to do and no time to do them. I know I need to get better at managing my time.
    I enjoy reading your posts. Thank you
    Mary Margaret.

  2. Rodica says:

    Good advise….Thankyou for sharing this with us.

  3. Ian Kirk says:

    What I have come to learn is that many of the reasons we hang onto our problems. Now I would have never said this just about a year ago but a lot of our reality is controlled by our internal programming. From the music we listen, to the TV shows and movies we watch, many of us are accepting programming that is not conducive to our own good. That’s why a daily time out to do your own programming, through prayer or meditation or both is so important.

  4. Thanks, Pryia. This came into the “fiber of my being”

  5. Thanks for this post entry.

  6. Kat says:

    Hello there! Thank you for posting this short story. It means a lot to me. I would like to repost this in my blog. Can I do that?

  7. chase says:

    Wow! this is just what i needed to hear; right here;right now! it was perfect! i have been going through some of my own personal struggles but the statement (though i have heard it many a times) ‘let go” it hasnt had the impact then as it does now! i appreciate the words here! thank you!

  8. Tar ADEJIR says:

    I came by your post by accident and I love it. It seems to speaks directly to me. Thanks

  9. Hassane Elalaoui says:

    Very nice metaphor, also accurately decribing our hanging on hurts of the past, resentments and unresolved issues of the past.

  10. LB says:

    It is so true we humans tend to hang on to the wrong things, issues that no longer matter being the worst of them, I also commend you on not only writing this but taking the time to reply to each post as well, well done.

  11. hudnett1 says:

    Thank you so much for sharing – this is a great example of how stress can weigh you down and prevent you from achieving your true mission in life! 🙂

  12. chas lyng says:

    Very good advice though not always easy to accomplish…but one must try to “let it go”.

  13. Joseph says:

    Hi Priya,
    It’s a nice story had read it before but this one’s a better version. Thanks for sharing. Joseph(Mumbai)

  14. 1cuttingchai says:

    a very brilliant thought…

Leave a Reply

