Make Time for those you Love

Make Time for those you Love

I read and felt this story, it touched me immensly – please read it and pass it on – I have adapted it slightly and am not sure who the original author is.

After 21 years of marriage, Aran’s wife wanted him to take another woman out to dinner and a movie. She said, “I love you, but I know this other woman loves you and would love to spend some time with you.”

The other woman that his wife wanted him to visit was his MOTHER, who has been a widow for 19 years, but the demands of his work and his three children had made it possible to visit her only occasionally. That night Aran called to invite his mother to go out for dinner and a movie. “What’s wrong, are you well?” she asked.

Aran’s mother was the type of woman who would suspect that a late night call or a surprise invitation is a sign of bad news. “I thought that it would be pleasant to spend some time with you,” he responded. “Just the two of us.” She thought about it for a moment, and then said, “I would love that very much.”

That Friday after work, as he drove over to pick her up he was a bit nervous. When he arrived at her house, he noticed that she too, seemed to be nervous. She waited at the door with her coat on. She had curled her hair and was wearing the dress that she had worn to celebrate her last wedding anniversary. She smiled from a face that was as radiant as an angel’s. “I told my friends that I was going to go out with my son, and they were impressed, “she said, as she got into the car. “They can’t wait to hear about our meeting.”

They went to a restaurant that, although not elegant, was very nice and cosy. His mother took his arm as if she were the First Lady. After they sat down, they read the menu. Her eyes could only read large print. Half way through the entries, Aran lifted his eyes and saw his mum sitting there staring at him. A nostalgic smile was on her lips. “It was I who used to have to read the menu when you were small,” she said. “Then it’s time that you relax and let me return the favor,” he responded. During the dinner, they had a lovely conversation – catching up on recent events of each other’s life. They talked so much that they missed the movie. As they arrived at her house later, she said, “I’ll go out with you again, but only if you let me invite you.” he agreed.

“How was your dinner date?” his wife asked when he got home. “Very nice. Much more so than I could have imagined,” he answered.

A few days later, his mother died of a massive heart attack. It happened so suddenly that he didn’t have a chance to do anything for her. Some time later, he received an envelope with a copy of a restaurant receipt from the same place his mother and he had dined. An attached note said: “I paid this bill in advance. I wasn’t sure that I could be there; but nevertheless, I paid for two plates – one for you and the other for your wife. You will never know what that night meant for me. I love you, son.”

At that moment, Aran understood the importance of saying “I LOVE YOU” in time and to give our loved ones the time that they deserve. Nothing in life is more important than your family. Give them the time they deserve, because these things cannot be put off until “some other time.”

Comments
4 Responses to “Make Time for those you Love”
  1. chas lyng says:

    An interesting story,sad in a way but also happy…A strong message for staying close to our loved ones….Our time is the most precious gift…You continue to find such warm,meaningful stories Priya….thank you.

  2. Fiaz says:

    My mother who is recovering from a sickness just spent a week with me and I know what the storyteller means

  3. Bless you Prya. Love xx

  4. bhairavi says:

    yes always say I LOVE YOU without hesitating.Thanks for the wonderful touching story.

Leave a Reply

