Indian Tea

Traditional Indian Tea

 

Today as I sat this morning, trying to fight of an inconvenient cold, wrapped in my snugly fleece robe drinking my tea, I started thinking about my dad.  I am not ready to talk or write about Dad yet, as losing him is recent and it still feels raw and painful to acknowledge this.

I started thinking about when I first started drinking and learning to make tea.  I was five years old and tea drinking had always been a ceremony in our house full of pomp and glory.  It was served twice a day at 8am and at 4pm.  It was always served in the best Royal Doulton china.  The 8am tea was made by mum and the 4pm tea was made by dad.

Dad had taught me how to make tea at the age of five.  He would pick me up and put me on the work unit next to the cooker and teach me about all the ingredients he would be putting in the tea.

Unlike the British method of making tea the Indian method is long and requires patience and key ingredients.  Firstly, the tea is made on the hob and not using a kettle.

Method

Place a saucepan on the hob with cold water

Throw in plenty of sugar

Crush some cardamoms and throw in

Crush 1 clove and throw in

Crush some fennel seeds and add in

Allow the water to boil & change colour

Next add some milk

Finally add 2/3 teabags

Allow it to boil for at least 5mins on slow heat

Mum, Dad and Maa (my grandmother) all taught my sisters and I about the benefits of the ingredients that we used in our tea.

Cardamoms are great anti-oxidants , they contain a rich source of minerals like potassium, calcium, and magnesium. Cardamoms help control heart rate and blood pressure.

Cloves have antiseptic and germicidal properties that help fight infections, relieve digestive problems and arthritis pain.  They also boost memory and blood circulation, and are beneficial for the heart, liver and stomach. Cloves can effectively cure many digestive problems like stomach ulcers, flatulence and dyspepsia, since they stimulate your body’s enzymes and boost digestion.

Fennel seeds can be used in treating bruises, cellulitis, obesity, water retention, eliminating the toxins from the body, halitosis, inflamations of the mouth. Fennel helps eliminate the common cold and reduce the bouts of cough due to its expectorant nature. Even the steam resulting from the boiling of the fennel leaves in water alleviates asthma and bronchitis.

So here we have it – the humble cup of traditional Indian Tea is really a true life saver!

Comments
10 Responses to “Indian Tea”
  1. Charles Ling says:

    The tea you describe sounds like a wonderful health drink..your father taught you well..So sorry about your father Priya…I’m sure that he taught you many wise things,and was proud of you..Take care during these sad times….sincerely…Charles Ling

  2. Sara says:

    Only you could make tea making sound like such a wonderful experience….

  3. Fiaz says:

    Reminds me of the Pashtun tradition of making green tea … Cloves are different though

  4. Dave Ward says:

    Just got to try this indian tea as doon ad I can get the ingreadiants
    sounds delicous amd healthy

  5. Priya Sher says:

    Dear all thank you for your lovely comments xx

  6. Sheela Nandini says:

    Dear Priya,

    Love the picture absolutely! Yum! And I hope you are feeling much much better by now.

    Fennel seeds(you mean saunf right?) is new to me in tea.Even cloves.Do have elaichi chai sometimes.Thanks for sharing this method-must try it now.

    I’m very sorry to hear about your father.And I understand your feelings.Please take care.

    About that tweet on noses representing husbands-now that’s intriguing! Can’t wait to hear more from you on this:) I’ve heard good things said about mine:) I mean nose.

    Love
    sheela

  7. Sheela Nandini says:

    Having a cuppa right now,Priya,Indeed a life-saver(got a teeny headache).Tastes heavenly too.

    Thank you so much for sharing!

    Love
    sheela

  8. bhairavi says:

    Yesterday i read an article about Indian tea,where a young boy asks for more milk and sugar in an international flight and he was critised and laughed by the air hostess that Indians always ask for more milk.This incident had changed his way of drinking tea. Thankyou for sharing you personal experience how good Indian tea is in your reputed blog HEARTY THANKS. I LONE THE WAY YOU EXPRESS! SIMPLE YET STRONG IMPACT! bhairavi.

Leave a Reply

